There is no confirmation on whether Netflix could roll out this feature for the worldwide audience.
We all love sitting on our couch and bingeing episodes on Netflix, and we never bat an eyelid before sharing passwords with family and friends. However, as per several reports, Netflix could well be testing a new feature that could put an end to this and people will not be able to share passwords with one another.
According to Gammawire, Netflix is engaged in a test that would warn users who are sharing account login information from users outside of their home or family. The report also goes on to say that a small group of users have already received a warning on the app where they have to verify if they are using their own Netflix account or not. Hence, if you are sharing the password of your friend, you will need to ask your friend to pass on the verification code since he will get the text.
The pop-up went on to read: “If you don’t live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching.” Also, the users will get the “Verify Later” option if they do not have immediate access to the verification code. After this, if the user does not get the code, he can also set up a new account, but then, that would need money.
Netflix told IGN, “This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so.”
The feature is currently being tested on TV devices at the moment. And it should also be mentioned here that it is also being tested in only a few countries and hence, there is no confirmation on whether Netflix could roll out this feature for the worldwide audience.
In another development, Netflix is also testing a mobile plan for Rs 299 in India. This plan is mobile-only and it would allow users to watch movies series on their phones.