WhatsApp users woke up to the four messages which were displayed on their status from a contact named ‘WhatsApp’.
The first message on the status says: “We are committed to your privacy”. The other three messages went on to read: ‘WhatsApp can’t read or listen to your personal conversation as they are end-to-end encrypted’, ‘WhatsApp can’t see your shared location’, and ‘WhatsApp doesn’t share your contacts with Facebook’.
Initially, the policy change was slated to come into effect on 8 February. However, the firm has clarified that this update will not affect data sharing with Facebook with regard to personal conversations or other profile information and only addresses business chats in the event a user chats with a company’s customer service platform through WhatsApp.
WhatsApp took out a number of tweets, in which the company confirmed that it is pushing back the date from February 8, 2021, to May, for now. “No one will have their account suspended or deleted on February 8, and we’ll be moving back our business plans until after May,” WhatsApp said.
“We’ve heard from so many people how much confusion there is around our recent update. There’s been a lot of misinformation causing concern and we want to help everyone understand our principles and the facts,” WhatsApp said in a blog post.
The blog post went on to add: “WhatsApp was built on a simple idea: what you share with your friends and family stays between you. This means we will always protect your personal conversations with end-to-end encryption, so that neither WhatsApp nor Facebook can see these private messages. It’s why we don’t keep logs of who everyone’s messaging or calling. We also can’t see your shared location and we don’t share your contacts with Facebook.”