WhatsApp is trying to rediscover itself and in the past few weeks has rolled out a number of new features for its Android and iOS apps. iPhone users have already received call waiting support and the new group privacy settings. Now it has released a fingerprint lock for the Android users. There are other exciting features in store which include features like dark mode and self-destructing messages.
As per a recent WhatsApp beta update there are interesting developments on WhatsApp’s self-destructing messages feature – these were earlier known as ‘Disappearing messages’ will now be known as ‘Delete messages’ according to the latest update. The app already has a ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature but as per the announcement, this new one will work differently.
This is how the feature will work:
The aforementioned WhatsApp’s Delete messages feature is slated to have a toggle on/off button for one-to-one and group chats. If this feature is turned on, it will delete every message sent to that chat within the chosen time interval.
Under this, WhatsApp will have five options for time intervals – 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week, 1 month and 1 year. Hence, for instance, if 1 hour is selected then messages sent to that chat will disappear after 1 hour.
This will be different when compared to Delete for Everyone on WhatsApp – it will not leave any trace of messages deleted on the chat. Currently, if users delete messages it displays a message which says “This message has been deleted”. Under the new feature, if the message is deleted there it will be as if the message never existed. It needs to mentioned here that the feature needs to turned off, as the messages will keep getting deleted unless that happens.
Now, self-destructing messages have existed in other messaging apps which include Telegram and Signal. The Facebook-owned company has not yet introduced the dark mode too which is already available on most popular apps.