Technology

Here’s why you might have to stop sharing your Netflix password

Netflix

If you are one of those lucky ones who has been using Netflix by the grace of your friends’ passwords, there might be a reason for you to worry.

In order to help Netflix and other such platforms put an end to such practices, British firm Synamedia has come up with new software which would track shared passwords on Netflix. The software which was showcased at CES 2019 uses artificial intelligence, behavioral analytics, and machine learning so that video streaming websites can track if their users are sharing passwords with their friends and family members.

“Using AI, behavioral analytics and machine learning, Synamedia Credentials Sharing Insight, identifies, monitors, and analyses credentials sharing activity across streaming accounts. Real-time dashboards highlight unusual sharing activity including alerts and trend analysis,” India Today quoted the company as saying in its report.

Streaming companies will have to buy access to Synamedia Credentials Sharing Insight to keep a track of such accounts and their legitimacy.

The software uses several factors like location of the account being accessed, the time when it is being accessed, which device is being used to access the streaming platform and likewise to shortlist the accounts that share their passwords.

“Casual credential sharing is becoming too expensive to ignore. Our new solution gives operators the ability to take action. Many casual users will be happy to pay an additional fee for a premium, shared service with a greater number of concurrent users. It’s a great way to keep honest people honest while benefiting from an incremental revenue stream,” Synamedia’s CPO and GM EMEA Jean Marc Racine said in a press statement. Streaming companies like Netflix, Amazon Prime, and HBO will have to check the password sharing patterns of their users. If a password has been shared multiple times between totally unrelated people with different viewing tastes and geographical locations, it will be considered as a fishy password and the streaming company can choose to shut down the account.

If the password has been shared between members of a family, the streaming company can ask such users to upgrade to a premium account.

 

Beware! This Netflix documentary will tell you why using Facebook is a huge privacy risk

 

Related posts

iPhone XI, iPhone XI Max preview: New fast-charging support to be shipped and other features

The-digital-buyer

Apple iOS 13: Siri to soon talk in desi English accent

The-digital-buyer

Coronavirus: Google CEO announces slew of efforts made by Youtube, Search and other teams for end-users

The-digital-buyer

Leave a Comment

fifteen − eleven =